Entries by Lorraine Desjardins

Musique aux enfants: More than music

Sometimes I am deeply moved by the goodness of humanity. Kent Nagano, chief conductor our symphony orchestra (MSO), has instigated one of my all-time favourite educational programs. In one of the neediest areas of Montreal, where the long-term prospects for our youngest citizens are very poor, he has set up a pilot project. Its main […]

Piano Covers – A User’s Guide

Any decent performance space owns at least one concert grand. It is common practice to cover a piano between uses. The main reason to do so, of course, is to prevent it from gathering dust. But there is more to it than keeping it clean – and who likes the sight of passing a finger […]

,

The fine art of piano voicing

(Part 1) Revised version with input from Lucas Garcia, piano technician and voicing specialist. All piano owners have called on a technician at one time or another, the most obvious reason being to get it in tune. As important as this is, there are other ways of making an instrument sound even better. One of […]

, , , , ,

Welcome to the EW Piano Blog!

With this first instalment, we invite you on a journey of discovery into the wonderful world of the piano and its many splendored things. And a journey it will be, because there is enough material out there to keep this blog afloat for months to come, if not years. Our main goal is to provide […]

Entrées par Lorraine Desjardins

,

La science au service des arts

Il y a une quinzaine d’années, j’avais imaginé un genre de robot qui serait en mesure d’analyser les forces et résistances produites à l’intérieur d’un piano lorsque l’on actionne les touches. L’appareil en question serait non seulement capable d’obtenir des informations plus complètes pour le bénéfice du technicien, mais de les recueillir à une vitesse inégalée. Cinq […]

,

La location d’un piano et sa préparation – Modus vivendi

L’une des fiertés de l’entreprise est son service de location d’instruments. Oliver Esmonde-White et son personnel le prennent donc très au sérieux, au point de miser leur réputation comme l’un des meilleurs fournisseurs de services dans le domaine. Lorsqu’un client (gérant de salle ou diffuseur de concerts par ex.) vient frapper, un processus d’identification des […]

,

L’harmonisation du piano — Un art en soi

(Première partie) Nouvelle version révisée et augmentée (avec le concours de Lucas Garcia, technique spécialiste en harmonisation). Tout propriétaire de piano fait appel aux services d’un technicien à un moment donné, le plus souvent pour l’accorder. Pourtant, il y a d’autres moyens pour améliorer le rendement d’un piano en terme de sonorité que de le […]

Le système Dampp-Chaser — Bénéfices et exigences

   Imposant de nature, le piano est un meuble massif et solide qui semblerait être à l’épreuve de tous les coups. En réalité, il est bien plus fragile qu’on le pense et ne peut être laissé à lui même. Parmi les dangers qui guettent un piano, l’humidité est l’un des plus nuisibles. Pour assurer une […]